Home > 2011 Posts, About Dave > Only Make New Mistakes!

Only Make New Mistakes!

February 21, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Dad was the best man I ever met. More on that some other time.

Today’s topic is his elegant, laconic turns of phrase, delivered at just the right moment. I call them Dad-isms.

My most favorite Dad-ism is:

 …wait for it…

Dave, some days you don’t have the sense God gave a chair.”

This one leads my Top 10 List because it was so true so often. Why? Because, even as kids and teenagers go, I was among the most lame and pointless. Hopefully, I’m less so now.

Dad passed away years ago. But, too often even today, I have reason to hear his quiet baritone say these words in my mind. And now, as then, I know it’s a fact at that moment.

Eventually, in my late teens, I set a personal goal to at least make only new mistakes. So now, after I’ve climbed out of the most recent self-dug hole, I try to figure out how to do better next time, and then actually do that when the next time comes around.

Sometimes, it even works!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

