Home > 2011 Posts, About Dave > Specialization is for Insects

Specialization is for Insects

Yesterday, someone noted the range of posts here. He asked to read a bit more about the person behind that range.

I like to learn. I like to find what ties people and things together. I like to uncover a pattern writ large across time and place and ideas. And find that pattern repeat itself in surprising ways. I like to know how things work. And fix stuff that doesn’t. I like doing a decent job at a lot of things. Always have.

Years ago, I read a passage by Robert Heinlein that seems to sum this up:

A human being should be able to change a diaper, plan an invasion, butcher a hog, conn a ship, design a building, write a sonnet, balance accounts, build a wall, set a bone, comfort the dying, take orders, give orders, cooperate, act alone, solve equations, analyze a new problem, pitch manure, program a computer, cook a tasty meal, fight efficiently, die gallantly. Specialization is for insects.”

I’ve even done most of them. And others, too.

Still working on the tasty meal part though…

Categories: 2011 Posts, About Dave
  1. March 2, 2011 at 7:37 am

    Love the insight and approach. Meals are the law straw however!!

    • March 2, 2011 at 11:58 am

      ‘Meala’ Maxima Culpa for crossing the line! Somehow, I seem to always be asymptotically approaching actual, tasty food preparation, but never quite achieving it. Perhaps redoubling my effort will get me close enough for practical purposes. Or not.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

