Home > 2011 Posts, About Dave > The Goal

The Goal

December 8, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Sometimes, I wonder: with all the things I’m trying to do, am I getting any closer to where I want to be?

I first heard those words in a short film, The Goal, based on a novel with the same title. It introduced a way of thinking that helped a lot in my work. But, the question was so profound, that I’ve asked it not just to myself, about myself, but also about what I see around me.

And the answers showed me once again what my Dad had tried so hard to teach his idiot son. Activity is not necessarily progress. Effort doesn’t always lead to results. If it did, a rocking chair would long ago have won the Indie 500.

Another way to ask the question could be, “Is the ‘solution’ really solving the problem?” It seems that there could be several answers other than “Yes.”

  • No, it hasn’t done anything helpful.
  • No, it not only hasn’t helped, it’s made the problem worse.
  • No, it’s made things worse, but it does solve another, unstated, problem for someone else.

A a mental game for you: think which of the answers above apply to these topics now in the news: 

  • Taxes as the ‘solution’ to out of control government spending
  • A Palestinian State as the ‘solution’ to Peace in the Middle East
  • More government employees as the ‘solution’ to general unemployment
  • Suppress access to low-cost energy as the ‘solution’ to long-term prosperity
  • Give people money as the ‘solution’ to income disparity. 

The old saying that goes: “Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day, but teach him to fish and he will eat for a lifetime,” comes to mind. And, dignity of the human spirit seems like it should come in there somewhere if the ‘solution’ were to have achieved the stated goal after half-a-century. Maybe the real goal is unstated.

Ya think?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

